Comcast “Basic Cable” vs. “Limited Basic Cable” – a chat transcript

CHAT ID: 63E43DAE-8F91-4471-8C9D-A06CAEC61B35

Problem: What are the monthly costs for Basic Cable vs. Limited Basic Cable?

Gagan > Hello Ellen_, Thank you for contacting Comcast Live Chat Support. My name is Gagan. Please give me one moment to review your information.

Gagan > It’s a privilege to have you here on chat and I am looking forward to provide you excellent service!

Ellen_ > My Issue: What are the monthly costs for Basic Cable vs. Limited Basic Cable?

Gagan > You want to know the price for Basic Cable vs. Limited Basic Cable?

Ellen_ > Hi.

Ellen_ > Yep.

Gagan > Alright!

Gagan > As I am from internet troubleshooting department.

Gagan > Please stay connected while I transfer to the correct department for further support. Before I transfer you, would there be anything else that I can assist you with?

Ellen_ > Tell the website folks that they didn’t give an option for my question! Sorry to go to you, but there wasn’t an appropriate selection. Have a good day, Gagan!

Gagan > Please stay connected while I transfer to the correct department for further support.

Gagan > Please wait, while the problem is escalated to another analyst

Sama > You have reached Sales Department and I will be assisting you with your concern for today. Please give me 2-3 minutes to review your conversation with the previous representative. This will give me a better understanding of the issue at hand so that we can resolve it in the most efficient way possible. Will that be okay?

Ellen_ > Thanks.

Sama > You are most welcome.

Sama > Based on your conversation with the previous representative I understood that you want to know the price of Basic cable and limited basic. Am I correct?

Ellen_ > Yes.

Sama > I will be more than happy to check the information for you, Ellen. You’ve certainly reached the right department! Please be assured I will do my best to help you with your concern.

Sama > Ellen, may I have your account number please?

Ellen_ > As I told the previous Analyst, Gagan, the website doesn’t give a link to Sales, so I ended up getting to you through Internet Troubleshooting!

Ellen_ > May I ask why you need my account number to tell me the package prices? Will they be different depending on where I live, for instance?

Sama > Correct Ellen, we need the account number to get the information and resolve your issue.

Ellen_ > Can you just give me ballpark package prices? Pretend I’m a new customer. 🙂

Sama > Sure.

Sama > Let me check that out for you. Would you mind waiting for a couple of minutes while I do the research?

Ellen_ > No problem. Thanks.

Sama > You are most welcome.

Sama > Based on the information you have provided, we have Limited basic at $25.90 per month.

Ellen_ > Cool, thanks. How about Basic Cable?

Sama > With this package you will get 10+ channels.

Ellen_ > Yes, the website page does tell me the features:

Ellen_ > http://customer.comcast.com/help-and-support/cable-tv/difference-between-limited-basic-and-expanded-basic-cable/

Sama > Ellen, Basic cable and Limited basic cable are the same package.

Sama > To view the channel lineup of this plan, please use this link: https://www.comcast.com/Customers/Clu/ChannelLineupPopup.ashx

Ellen_ > OK. What’s the cost for Expanded Basic Cable, then?

Sama > We have Digital Economy at $39.95 per month.

Sama > With this package you will get around 50 channels.

Ellen_ > There’s no Expanded Basic Cable any more?

Sama > Ellen, which specific channel would you like watch?

Ellen_ > SciFi. But that’s just me.

Sama > Let me check that out for you. Would you mind waiting for a couple of minutes while I do the research?

Ellen_ > Unfortunately, my time’s up. However, I have a message for whoever reads these chat messages:

Sama > No problem Ellen, you can chat back to us anytime.

Ellen_ > Dear Supervisor — Please let the reps answer questions directly and stop making them try to upsell me! All I wanted was to find out the difference between two cable packages, but what should have been a 3 minute conversation has taken 20 minutes of my time just so you can hit poor Sama over the head for not selling bigger packages!

Ellen_ > Thanks, Sama. I appreciate your help, and I can only imagine the frustration of having to use those canned lines. Have a good day, and tell your supervisors that customers know what they’re doing to us!

Sama > I understand your concern, Let me apologize.

Ellen_ > IT’S NOT YOUR FAULT, Sama. I blame Comcast for not letting you just talk to me directly.

Ellen_ > And they’re going to make you apologize, when they should be apologizing to YOU. I hope this doesn’t get YOU in trouble for THEIR bad policies…

Ellen_ > Anyway, I don’t want to get you in trouble, since you’ve been so helpful. Have a good day, Sama. Thanks again.

Sama > Ellen, we have Expanded basic cable but it is not a specific package it comes under Starter package and above than that.

Ellen_ > OK, thanks.

Sama > You are most welcome.

Sama > Is there anything else I can help you with today?

Ellen_ > No, thank you though. Have a lovely weekend!

Sama > Thank you for contacting Comcast! Here at Comcast, Customer Satisfaction is important. It has been a pleasure to assist you today. Thank you very much for your time and patience all throughout the chat. Have a great week and take care!

Sama > Good bye Ellen.

1 thought on “Comcast “Basic Cable” vs. “Limited Basic Cable” – a chat transcript”

  1. You are lucky yours only took 20 minutes. I was on with 2 different reps for over ONE HOUR AND TWENTY MINUTES last night. I, too, had to contact them through their troubleshooting dept because there is only one “contact us” link. I do not talk well on the phone, and health issues prevent me from going to the Comcast store and standing in line. I was given only those two options. When I reminded the phone rep of the ADA and how this could be perceived as discrimination I was eventually transferred to a special accessibility dept. All I want is a list of my options to DOWNGRADE my account. The only options I am given online is to UPGRADE. The rep,was trying to increase my internet by 4 times the speed, give me a phone package that I don’t need and HBO that I do not want. Unfortunately I was using my iPad, and was not given an option to save this absolutely HORRIBLE chat. I was eventually emailed some information, but it’s not enough to make an informed decision. It is terrible that these companies are not required to have their rates on their website so we can make decisions. Both reps tried to get me to agree to sign up for a new package when all I wanted was rates and options, IN WRITING. Comcast has us my the short hairs because there is no other cable company and we live in an area where antennae do not work. Believe me, we have tried!

    Like

Leave a Reply

